A Letter to the Promise

Standard

Dear Faith,

The day will come, when you will sift through my collection of written works and happen upon this letter. You’ll look at the date and the time: August 12, 2012; 12:30 in the morning. You’ll be surprised to find that the letter was written well before you were ever born. You’ll want to know how I knew. How could I have possibly known you were coming? My answer, sweetheart, is simple. God promised.

You are an impossible promise by the standards of men because, in our grand wisdom, we know what we are capable of allowing and preventing. Your promised coming was as foreign to me as jibberish spoken to a man of intelligence. I couldn’t understand why God would decide to bless us with you, when we already had more than enough. I struggled to comprehend what God was telling me at the time because it made absolutely no sense. After all, we were beyond the ability to have any more children. We had seen to that. And yet, years afterward, God spoke into my heart and made a promise that I didn’t understand. He spoke of you.

“Remain faithful and I shall reward you.”

You were to be the reward I didn’t realize I even wanted. But God was most persuasive, and rather matter of fact about your coming. However, you were not promised indefinitely. You see, we had to do our part in preparing for you. He instructed us to remain faithful. That was the key. Following His lead; trusting in Him; relying on Him, no matter what. We had to remain faithful, to receive the promise.

At first, we viewed the whole concept as some sort of impulsive fantasy, derived from our own minds. From a logical standpoint, there simply was no way we could nurture you, with what little we had. How could we really afford to give more of what we already stretched so thin? Did we actually want to start all over again, from the beginning? What would people say, once they found out what we were getting into again?

But as we continued to weigh out the cons of the promise, we began to question our own fears. What if this promise was real? What if God, in His almighty majesty decided to do this, simply because He can? What if He chose to grant us with such a blessing to disply His awesome power? What if He chose to do this because He has a greater plan than we can possibly imagine, for the future?

Isaac was the promise to Abraham and Sarah. They scoffed at the idea, but trusted God just the same. In His timeframe, God delivered on that promise, simply because He was and is capable of doing such a thing. Remembering Issac’s birth made me question where my loyalties really lie. Do I trust the Bible, or not? Do I trust that God is who He says He is, or not? Do I actually believe God keeps His promises? It took awhile to realize that I do. Sometimes, in my humanity, I battle with doubts. But, when I think of the many blessings God had already bestowed on our family, before the promise, I couldn’t deny His deity; His truth. I do believe. I believe He can do exactly what He says He can do, whenever He feels like doing it.

Coming to that realization, admitting that we believe, made us face how we felt about the idea of your coming. Despite what difficulties might arise, we welcomed it. As time passed, we grew excited over the possibility of your coming. We were different people than what we used to be, sweetheart. And we relished the idea of bringing you up to know and love the Lord. You would never know what type of people your parents were, before salvation.

Your mom and I began to pray for God’s will to be done. If the promise was real, we wanted Him to know that we would do our best to keep the faith and be expectant of a miracle. We prayed to God to make you as healthy as the others, without defect or blemish. No tarnished spirit or false character. But we realized what we were doing was trying to instruct the Lord on how our promise should be delivered. So we began to pray differently. We told God that we would do our very best to raise you up to know and love Him, no matter what. After all, we reasoned that God wouldn’t promise such a gift unless He wanted the gift taken care of correctly. We needed to be good stewards of His promise.

Faith, at the time of this letter, you are nothing more than a promise held together by the cord of faith. It almost seems silly to write a letter addressed to the future, based on a feeling. But then, God was never limited to the feelings and emotions of man. Whether you arrive during our lifetime or in the afterlife, you need to know that you were promised, and that we held on to you because of that promise. We loved you long before your arrival, because you were promised. We believed in that promise, and made provision in our saved lives for you. Faith, we will wait on you forever. We will never give up on you. You are the promise. You are my daughter.

Leave a Reply

