Diamond in the Rough

Standard
John Doe
            So, I stop at the red light and reach for my steaming mug of hot coca, when my ears were suddenly violated. A quick glance left confirmed my suspicion.

            “C’mon, man! You can’t be serious? My windows are up!”

            It didn’t matter. My rear view mirror was quaking in unison to the rhythmic, thundering jungle beat pounding from the trunk of a…I don’t know…maybe a…late 60’s Chevrolet; whatever the “homies” are rolling in these days. I mean, my marsh mellows are literally dancing in my mug, as this guy’s trunk is rattling like a couple of cats fighting in a bag of tin cans. The guy’s stereo probably used more wattage than my washer and dryer together, but I see him nodding to the beat as if the trash is lulling him to sleep.

            Meanwhile, the hairs in my ears are vibrating. I lean on the horn with no effect. The guy’s zoning right there at the stop light; sunglasses bobbing on a cloudy and snowy day. Then I see him lower his head and raise his hands in some weird kind of worship gesture.

            “He’s gotta be high on something,” I’m thinking. No wonder he’s deaf. The kid’s probably high off reefer or drunk off of malt liquor.

            The light turned green and I floored the Rover, peeling rubber through the snow covered road, just trying to get away from the gangster before he could wreck my automobile, distracted by the personal concert he had blasting. Another fine example of today’s youth. Someday, that kid will be someone’s role model.


JESUS
Oh John, how I weep for you. What you don’t know is that young man recently surrendered his life over to me. What you don’t know is that the car was a gift from his late grandfather. You can’t possibly understand the fact that I speak to him through music, at this stage in his walk. The louder the music is, the clearer my voice reaches his heart.

John, you failed to see the tears trailing his cheeks behind the dark sunglasses: tears of repentance; tears of release; tears of joy. What you don’t know is that he traded in his Jay-Z collection, replacing it with Lecrae music. His raised hands, John? He took a moment to pray and worship me, right where you saw him.

What you don’t know is that I have plans to raise him up into a mighty man, fit to lead others into the Kingdom of my father; others who look just like him. John, what you don’t know is that I know him. I don’t know you.  

    
One thought on “Diamond in the Rough

Leave a Reply

