Generations and Legacy

Standard

Jordynn skipped school yesterday; victimized by “Pink Eye”. So, I stayed home from work. It was a beautiful Spring day, so we spent time doing odd jobs around the house and eventually going out to enjoy the weather. We’re in the backyard swinging our bats around (we both play softball), when I come up with some impromptu declaration for my bat. “This is my sword; the sword of the Spirit! With it, I shall vanquish the fiery darts of the enemy that may attack, in the shape of softballs. I will not waver in my defense of the gospel. I am a soldier on the team of the Lord!” It was pretty lame, but it went something pretty close to that. “That was pretty good, daddy,” she says. “Yeah, I’m a writer, ya know. Sometimes I can’t turn it off.” “I want to be a writer,one day, too.” “You will be, honey. You’ve already got the bug.” Right then and there, truth hit me. She really will become a writer; better than I could ever hope to be. All this time, I’ve been chasing my dreams and aspirations of making something happen with my own talents. It never occurred to me that just maybe, I haven’t been doing it for my own success story, but to prepare my daughter for hers. In that one moment, I saw a glimpse of who she might become someday. In the Old Testament times of King David, he wanted desperately to build the Temple in honor of the Lord. But God made it clear to him: “Look dude, I appreciate what you’re trying to do here. But the fact is, I’m not giving you permission to build this thing for me. You’ve simply got too much blood on your hands. Instead, it’ll be your son who builds the temple for me.” David was like, “but…but…Lord,” “Nuh, uh, uh; no ‘buts’. I love you, but I said, ‘no’. It will be your son.” “Doh! Fine. Okay. I understand, Lord. Your will be done. I’ll make sure I leave my son everything he needs to build your house.” So, when I put things into that perspective, I realize what an honor it will be to see my daughter go to college for journalism. Some people say its a dead art, but I beg to differ. I see her graduating, and becoming a famous author who writes fiction in honor of the Lord, whom she already has a heart for. I see my daughter doing all the things I wanted to become. I see my legacy coming to life through her. Now don’t misunderstand me. I’m not interested in living vicariously through my child. I’m interested in seeing her use whatever talents the Lord blesses her with, to do His will. That’s what I want for all of my children. That’s my legacy. If I die tomorrow, I want my children to remember how much I loved the Lord, and I want them to go on in the faith, becoming even more effective Christians than I could have ever become. Proverbs 18:16 says, “A man’s gift makes room for him, and brings him before the great.” God gave me this gift (of writing) to use. I thought he gave it to me to spread the gospel far and wide,Image myself. But what if he actually gave it to me to do that as a secondary purpose? What if the main purpose was to be a guide post for my children? Maybe it will be to them to spread the gospel far and wide. If that’s the case, I want to do a great job, so that when I die, I am brought before the great: the Lord Himself. I want to hear those famous words, “Well done, good and faithful servant. Come on in, Enn.”

One thought on “Generations and Legacy

Leave a Reply

