Words Left Unsaid

Standard

Before she succumed to cancer on July 16, 2007, my Mom told me, just two days earlier, a few words that would remain with me forever.

“You’re a good man, a good father and you work too much. Life is too short. Get out and enjoy it sometime.”

I wish I could have told her about my dreams. She never saw me gain the courage to take up motorcycle riding lessons. She never saw me learn to play the piano or go on to produce my own music. She never saw me take writing seriously. She never saw me come to the Lord.

In truth, it was my Mom’s death that drove me to actually do all of these things. Its a terrible punishment to watch Cancer ravage a loved one; robbing them of the strength you saw all the days of your life. Watching death in action reminds us of our own mortality. We really don’t have much time in this world. With the time we’re given, we should strive to make a difference in the lives of the ones we truly love.

In her 55 years of life, my Mom shaped and molded me. But in her death, she awakened a strength I didn’t realize I had. I told her how much I loved her before she passed. But in hindsight, I wish I could have told her what an inspiration she would someday be, after she was gone.

I wish I could have told her about my dreams. I wish I could have given her a glimpse into the future, to let her see what her oldest son would someday become.

One thought on “Words Left Unsaid

Leave a Reply

