Thoughts in 24 Minutes

Standard

I have an itch to jot down the ramblings inside. I have 24 minutes to do so, because my Thursday-night show starts at 9:00PM. So walk with me for a few minutes.

The situation in Iraq has me concerned. It seems the hostile army advancing on the city has our government temporarily stumped. I don’t say that in any form of disrespect to our elected leadership. It just seems to be an obvious observation. What will this fast paced escalation do to gas prices in Michigan tomorrow? What will the state of relations be like, between the U.S. and Iraq in 24 hours? Does the generation of today understand the significance of what’s going on, or are the youth too busy watching TMZ and wondering what Justin Bieber’s gonna do next?

Today marked the start of the 2014 FIFA World Cup. On a day when Brazil should be celebrating and wooing world wide visitors, they actually had to deal with protesters and violence mere blocks away from the games. Who was the guy that said, “Okay, let’s get out there in the streets today”? It seems kind of sad (to me) that the evening was marred by that display, considering the region was already under scrutiny. There were serious doubts on whether or not Brazil would even be ready to host the games. One would think, the locals would like nothing but positive press today.

So Twinkies are back in stores. Yay! But…wait just a darn minute. Didn’t those things used to be bigger? Now that I’m thinking about it, didn’t Big Mac sandwiches used to be larger and cost less? York Peppermint Patties used to be huge. Now I see a bag of York Minis on the isles at grocery stores. They just so happen to be in the same isle as the bag of Reeses Peanut Butter Cup Minis and Kit Kat Minis bags. What the heck man?! We’re serious going smaller and more expensive? Please don’t get me started on Fiat 500s and Smart Cars!

How ’bout them Tigers, today, huh?

So…in retrospect, the world is becoming increasingly more violent; we’re dolling out smaller portions, while charging more money; and my Tigers aren’t doing so well. Aside from the Detroit Tigers, I’m pretty sure the bible said things were going to eventually progress exactly the way we’re seeing them today. Hmmm. It would have been nice if the bible predicted a future for my Tigers. I’m just saying.

 

Leave a Reply

