Choose Your Words Wisely

Standard

When I first got saved, I struggled with my tongue. My vocabulary was fine. As a writer, big words and the dictionary were my close friends. But, I could bless a person in one second and curse their name in the next. “Hey, Brother Ted! May the Lord bless you and the family today.” Then, I could turn to my wife and say something like, “I hope he knows people are gonna laugh at those stupid-looking shoes he’s wearing.”

The tongue is a dangerous thing. If we don’t watch what we say, every time we open our mouths, we could be in danger of condemning ourselves. James 3:10 (ESV) says, “From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not be so.” Do you know that Christian who praises the Lord in church, but swears like a sailor, on Saturday night? That’s a danger we should watch out for.

The Lord wants us to use every part of our being to praise Him. This includes our speech. Yeah…we’re human. We will fail sometimes. But, we should not purposely use our tongues to speak evil into someone else’s life, or our own. In one of his songs, Lecrae says, “For me, learning not to curse, was like learning to write in cursive.” Its hard! But, as Christians, we have to learn to speak life, and put an end to speaking death.

Leave a Reply

