Split Second Reflection

Standard

We look in the mirror every day, and rarely are we surprised at what we see. Replace a loose strand of hair; pop a zit; pluck a nose hair; inspect our newly whitened teeth. Mostly, our reflection is reserved for mundane activity. We check out the fit of a new garment; flex after a hard workout; secretly inspect that practiced dance move before the big party.

What? Don’t act like its just me, people!

Sometimes, looking in the mirror does take on a deeper emotional effect on our subconscious. For instance, I remember the first time I looked in the mirror and actually saw a bad person staring back at me. I think my overwhelming emotion at the time was…anger. It didn’t help that I was just coming into a knowledge of the scriptures. The verse that rings out in my mind is James 1:23-24. For those who might not know, here’s what it says:

Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.”

I stared long and hard at my face, and although the features of the reflection were familiar, I didn’t recognize the character of the man behind the features. He was a stranger. That’s how it is when we take a good hard look at ourselves. We might not like what we see. 

The thing about our reflection is, we never expect it to do anything…unexpected. If I break down and cry in front of the mirror, I naturally expect my reflection to show me what I look like in my time of deep sorrow. If I spontaneously burst into clown laughter, it wouldn’t surprise me at all to see a total idiot laughing back at me.

But what if, in a split second, your reflection did something totally unexpected? It wouldn’t even have to be an exaggerated movement; just something subtle: A wink; a smirk; a slight twist in the neck; a raised eyebrow. I’m not talking about a sudden muscle spasm that you could feel and, therefore, explain. I’m talking about something that takes place outside of your physical body, inside the mirror. Think about it, friends. If that actually happened to you personally, how would that change your perceptions of reality? 

Woo! I just got a chill, thinking about it. 

That’s what I want you to think on tonight. What would your reaction be, if your reflection did something unexpected in a split second? Link to this, and tell me about it.

One thought on “Split Second Reflection

Leave a Reply

