Praying It Forward

Standard

Today, I’m gonna start #PrayingItForward. There are a lot of bad events happening not just around the world, but in our own back yards. It seems that Satan is having a field day with our peace. I think we underestimate the real power behind prayer. It works, but only through faith. It works because God wants it to; simple as that.

It’s easy to pray for a friend or loved one you stay in constant contact with. But, what about standing in the gap for an acquaintance; what about praying for someone who was once, or maybe still is, an enemy? What about that friend you haven’t kicked it with in some years? What about that family member who laughs at your belief? These folks experience hard times and have bad days too. The difference is, when tragedy hits, they may not know who to turn to. We’re all just regular people trying to find our niche in life. We could all use God’s help.

With all the stupid challenges I see posted on Facebook (Fire, Winter, Ice Water?), I’m gonna start my own challenge. Here’s the deal folks: I challenge everyone to pick a friend, acquaintance or enemy (whatever the case may be) and lay down some prayer for that person. You don’t have to post your prayer; we’re not advertising here. I don’t advocate Pharisee-type behavior. But what I would ask is that after you’ve prayed for that someone, you send them this: “#PrayingItForward”. Only they will know. My hope is that they will, in turn, pray for someone else. Remember, the goal here is not really to stand in prayer for someone you’re warm and fuzzy with. Chances are, we do that anyway. No, the idea and the challenge is to stand in the gap for someone who you might not be too familiar with. Yeah, maybe you’re Facebook friends, Twitter pals, or say, “Hi” at the grocery store. But, besides that weak interaction, you know nothing of one another. That’s the guy or gal this is for; that person who is going through a rough patch.

I’m starting this off, so I get to break my own rule, on behalf of a brother who’s going through some rough times right now.

“Lord, today I stand in the gap for my brother Cle ‘Crushar’ Clark.

When we were kids, we didn’t always see eye to eye, but as grown men, I see him trying his best to do right by his family. Right now, Satan is trying his best to claim his family, and to claim Cle’s peace of mind. Enter his heart, Lord. Grant him grace and mercy like only you can. Guide him through this difficult time in his life, and lead him into a better tomorrow.

Lord, help him to accept loss of life, even without understanding it. Help him to realize that you are in control of everything, at every moment, everyday. We never know when our time to meet you may come. I pray today, that the tragedy this brother faces might bring him closer to you, and that through him, his living family might see and come to know who you really are…and that you DO exist. In your name, I pray these things over my brother, Lord Jesus. Amen”

This was originally started as a Facebook post before walking out the door to work this morning. But, as I wrote this it, I realized, “this thing is bigger than Facebook. People are really hurting out there beyond my door. God calls us to pray for people and to spread His gospel anyway.” So I’m sharing this with everyone in hopes that this things actually goes viral.

Today, pray for someone who really needs God’s touch in their life. Pray for someone who could really use a miracle. Pray for someone who’s at the end of their line. While the apparent suicide of Robin Williams caught everyone off guard, I wonder would he still be here, if enough people had prayed for him? Make this happen today, tomorrow, all week, all month and for the rest of the year people. Let’s pray it forward.

#PrayItForward

One thought on “Praying It Forward

Leave a Reply

