Somewhere I Belong

Standard

In my college years, I felt a need to belong somewhere. It seemed like all the cool guys were part of a fraternity of some sort. You had the “Alphas” who seemed to be the distinguished bunch; the “Kappas” were the intelligent pretty boys; the “Sigmas” threw the best parties; and then there were the “Omegas”. Yeah, they were the die-hards, you didn’t mess with. Although I knew someone within each one of these fraternities, I didn’t quite fit in with any one of them. I thought long and hard about pledging myself to the Alpha fraternity, but just when I was about ready, something told me to hold off. That route wasn’t for me.

I know now, that “something” was the Holy Spirit. You see, these days I belong to a brotherhood with eternal bonds. And unlike any fraternity, I willingly pledge myself everyday, by denying my own desires and submitting to the will of the one in charge.

I’ve heard of brothers who have been abandoned by the fraternity they once pledged. But God never abandons his faithful. Deuteronomy 31:8 says, “The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

You don’t have to search very far to find out where you belong. Simply Look to God. He’s got a special place within his kingdom planned just for you.

One thought on “Somewhere I Belong

Leave a Reply

