Living Fully In Freedom

Standard

Watch VideoVotional Here

 

1 Peter 2:16 (NIV) –“Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as servants of God.”

When I was saved and gave my heart to the Lord, I didn’t have a full understanding of what that meant. Hence, I used my new freedom in Christ as an imaginary shield against sins I continued to commit on a daily basis. All the while, I claimed to know and love Jesus with all of my heart.

I pirated movies released in theaters from bit-torrents. I downloaded questionable music that I knew I would never listen to in the presence of my Lord. I made selfish purchases without considering my family. I even went to see movies on my own because I felt like I deserved the “me” time.

Some of you may say, “So what’s the big deal? I do all of that and I’m still a good person.” No. I was using the gift of Salvation as a cover-up for the sins I should have repented of. Big or small, a sin is still a sin, in the eyes of the Lord. Peter made it clear that we are not to use our new freedom as an excuse to continue sinning.

Now that you’re saved by God’s grace, is there an area in your life God is calling you to lie at his feet? Accepting Jesus as Lord of our lives means we submit fully to him. We have to live fully in the freedom he has given us.

One thought on “Living Fully In Freedom

Leave a Reply

