The Prosperity Prayer

Standard

Is it wrong for a Christian to want success? In Matthew 6:24, Jesus made it perfectly clear, “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.”

Let’s be clear: I’m not talking about the love of money versus the love of the Lord. I’m simply asking if the desire for a better way of life, a comfortable way of life, is wrong. Can we really ask God to bless the fruit of our labors with comfortable living? I’ll give you a few examples to consider:

“Lord, please take my talents and spread them across the world. While you’re at it Lord, would you please replace the old busted up car we’re driving? We could really use something a little more reliable.”

Here’s another example…

“Lord, I pray in the name of Jesus, that you would bless our finances so that we might be able to afford a home. No more renting for us, God. We’re so ready to permanently plan roots.”

One more example, here…

“Lord you told me to write, so I write. You said a book was in my future, and so it has come to pass. You told me not to worry about my future, because the desires of my heart would never compare to what you have in store for me. Will you please bless my entire family, so that not one of my children is lost?”

Yeah, these are mine. If I can be totally transparent with you for a minute, I struggle with the great divide between the desire for material comforts and desire to be completely obedient to God because he expects me to. It does get hard to ignore your circumstances when they’re right in your face 24/7. Sometimes I have to check my motives during prayer.

For a while, I believed there was nothing wrong with prosperity preaching. In fact, it sounded good when a preacher would say things like, “God wants you to be richly blessed! He wants you to be successful! He wants you to live in the midst of great abundance!”

But, the more I learn about God and his infallible word, the more I question that type of doctrine. I’m certainly not suggesting that God wants his children to live in poverty all the days of their lives. But, Jesus never promised his disciples that they would live the good life here on earth, either. Quiet the contrary, actually.

The Lord promised persecutions would come. Love for the Lord equals emnity with the world. So the question still stands, for you to consider: Is it wrong for a Christian to want success?

What are your thoughts friends?

One thought on “The Prosperity Prayer

Leave a Reply

