What; No Comments?

Standard

The flesh. Woo! I can hear some folks out there beyond cyberspace yelling, “Amen brother”! The flesh is a monster, when it comes to walking this path toward Christ. Some of y’all know what I’m talking about. For those who don’t, let me try to explain it.

Jesus told his disciples to deny themselves, among other things. As easy as it may sound, this task is quite difficult because, by nature, we love ourselves and are totally self absorbed. We’re too busy trying to make our own lives comfortable before worrying about the next guy. So, the concept of denying myself seems logically…stupid.

If I’m hungry, I want to eat. If I have $10 in my pocket, I’m going to “Subway” for dinner. That’s what my flesh wants. However, if I’m really following the Lord, I just might consider giving that same $10 to the homeless guy I’ll likely pass, on the way to “Subway”.

Now someone might say, “Wait a minute, Ennis. What about your stomach? Weren’t you hungry?”

Well yeah. But, if the Lord placed it on my heart to give up that money and deny my stomach, I trust him. I’ll do it out of obedience.

Sometimes, its just not that clear-cut dealing with the flesh however. Let’s take this blog for instance. I’ve got about 75 followers, and no one comments on any of my blog posts. Why? Well, I have theories:

  1. My writing sucks. No one in they’re right mind would post a comment to this meaningless junk.
  2. After all this time, I still don’t know how to operate my settings and enable comments.
  3. Everyone who reads my posts suffers from short term memory loss, and simply can’t remember what they read by the end of the post.
  4. My writing sucks (wait I already used that one).
  5. God, in his divine plan, is keeping me focused on who this blog is supposed to be about: Him; not me.

My flesh has a tendency to tell me how awesome my writing is, until I scroll to the bottom and see no comments. Then, my flesh gets bitter. In that state, I completely forget that “Writin’ With The Lord”  is supposed to be about glorifying the Lord; not praising Ennis’s human ability.

Oooooo. Man, that hurt just admitting it out loud.

Our flesh sure is prideful. Proverbs 16:18 says, “Pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall”. I have to constantly check my flesh, because it tends to want to take credit for God’s blessings.

“You read that book? It was awesome, right? did that!”

“You heard that song? Sweet wasn’t it? That was all me!”

“You see how many people responded to my Tweet this morning? Man, I’m good!”

I could keep this up all night. These are real sentiments lurking inside my heart. Notice, no glory to God was in a single one of them! If I allow that attitude to fester and roam freely, I might as well dig my own grave, because it will lead to my destruction.

To combat those selfish desires, I try to write something I would image Jesus would be proud of. After all, this blog is just one of the ways I use the gift God gave me to honor him. When I keep that perspective, it’s really pointless worrying about comments and attention. If I write something that glorifies the Lord, that’s enough for me.

So, I’m gonna go to bed now. I won’t worry about the “zero” that will be in the comments section because…well…I feel pretty good about sharing a piece of me with you fellow wordsmiths and readers. We’re all human after all. We all deal with imperfections. Pride is one of mine. I’m sure some of you can relate. Sharing my struggles with the flesh is just one way of denying myself, in my walk toward Jesus.

4 thoughts on “What; No Comments?

  1. Ennis, I almost didn’t comment because I didn’t want to spoil your perfect record. Your writing is fine and I enjoy it. I don’t get many comments either and I think to do that you need to prompt readers with some controversy or something. I say just keep doing what you’re doing.

    Like

    • Nice Dale! You blew my perfect score! Ya know, in another life, I used to write erotica because I thought it was what the people wanted. Turns out, they did but it wasn’t what I was supposed to spend my time writing. The irony was thick. The first time I had a story published, I had just given my heart to the Lord and wanted nothing to do with the genre anymore. I decided to write what comes straight from my heart and never look back. If it glorifies the Lord, that’s all that really matters to me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

