Milestones

Standard

Maybe it’s a certain day, set to commemorate a life changing event. Perhaps it’s a particular number representing units sold, pounds lost, or days sober. It could be something small in the grand scheme, but monumental on a personal level.

A milestone.

The day I gave my life to the Lord wholeheartedly, changed the course of not only my life, but the lives of my family as well. Figuratively speaking, I turned direction and never looked back. I never will. That’s what a milestone reminds us of. It’s a destination reached and for many, a point of no return. It let’s us know that we can achieve the dream, if we stay the course despite obstacles.

When I decided to “try” writing for the Lord, my mindset was already focused on failure, even though I believed my gift was God given.

“Nobody’s gonna wanna read what I’ve got to say,” I thought.

So I set a bar that, at the time, seemed impossible to grasp: 100 followers. That may not seem like a lot of followers to some of you awesome bloggers, but it was a start for me. We have to crawl before we can walk, and milestones help us to gauge that progress.

“Okay Lord, if 100 people follow my written work, then I guess I belong here.”

Last night, my little corner of the massive blogging world picked up its 101st follower. Whatdaya know; I am a Christian writer after all. A hundred and one folks say so. I reached my first milestone. It may have taken a few years to get here, but I made it.

Set goals friends. Reach for the stars. Do what you love, and don’t ever look back because eventually your talents will make room for you. And use milestones as ladder rungs to continually hoist yourself up…up…up.

What’s next for me? 200 followers and a second book.

 

One thought on “Milestones

Leave a Reply

