Trustration

Standard

This morning, Pastor Eddie Marcum preached an entire sermon on a word he pulled from thin air. Funny thing is, the message fulfilled like a perfectly cooked butter-basted lobster tail; man it was so good!  I’m going to go ahead and give the Ennis-vernacular version on the essence of Trustration.

There are times in life, when we stand up against the wall of frustration. You know what I’m talking about. Those times when we get all up in our flesh because we’ve been praying and behaving Christian-like, but it seems as if God’s simply ignoring our pleas and most-sanctified chants n’rants.

“I go to church every Sunday! I tithe faithfully! I volunteer for the annual bake sale, even when I can’t afford to buy that much cookie dough! But the heathen Jones family up the block just bought a new Lincoln Navigator, when the mister’s been on assistance for four years?! What’s up with that Lord?”

You know, king David had that kind of episode; seriously. In I Samuel 20:1 (NIRV), David asked his homeboy Jonathan, “What have I done? What crime have I committed? I haven’t done anything to harm your father. So why is he trying to kill me?”

Apparently, even kings have off days where God ignores their troubles. On top of the frustration, Satan comes along and dangles temptation in our faces, essentially daring us to remain faithful to a god who seemingly cares nothing for our circumstances.

“Look, I know your license is suspended. But, if you don’t drive to work today, you’re gonna get fired. You won’t get caught, if you take the back roads and stay under the speed limit. C’mon, everybody has to do it at some point.”

Satan came hard at Jesus when he knew the Lord would be tired and hungry. After fasting in the desert 40 days and nights, the enemy tried to tempt the Lord. Luke 4:3 (NIV) says, “The devil said to him, ‘If you are the Son of God, tell this stone to become bread.'”

Pastor Eddie said when frustration and temptation get together, your only response should be to dig in deep and trust in the Lord because, during those times–the in between times–God is pulling you through. Those are the times when you find out just what your faith is really made of brother! WOO! I can testify! Y’all read my last blog a few weeks ago. You know my struggles were real. You know my faith was truly tested. Pastor said we can go ahead and call that faithful response to trust in the Lord through our double-whammy frustrations and temptations “Trustration”! You’ve gotta claim it, sister!

“Get behind me, Satan! Through your frustration and temptation, I’m practicing trustration because God didn’t bring me this far just to bring me this far! The end is NOT here! You will NOT stop me now!”

Oh, somebody out there in reader-land is gettin’ a hold of this right now! Hold on to it, and swing it around, family! You’ve got to fight for your victory! Prayer and faith are the weapons we use to fight the demons we can’t lay fists on.

Trustration may not be found in the Webster Dictionary, but you better believe David practiced it. How else could he write the Psalms and still come out on top? And we know that Jesus passed every one of Satan’s temptations, and was afterward attended by the angels. He practiced Trustration, retorting himself–the living word–right back at the enemy’s advances.

Family, in the midst of my personal struggles a few weeks back, I unknowingly practiced Trustration. When my job was prematurely gone, and my eyesight was taken by viral conjunctivitis, and my family had no second car to help share the load, things literally looked bleak. But God answered diligent prayers to provide for true needs in our family. An awesome small car was purchased. My eyesight was restored completely, just in time for me to begin my new career for a new consulting firm. Don’t tell me there is no God! He’s everywhere, and he hears all prayers!

Sometimes, the flesh coupled with trials can make for a devastating outlook on the future. But I want you to remember that the same God who created everything is quite capable of handling our minor problems. Don’t quit on trusting in him. I promise you, he’ll never quit on you, no matter how far you think you’ve fallen. Trustration began as a pastor’s simple made-up word. If you apply it to your life whole heartedly, the simple word can change the course of your life. A negative plus a negative will always mathematically cancel out and become positive friends.

Temptation + Frustration = Trustration

 

*always*

One thought on “Trustration

Leave a Reply

