Foolish Beliefs

Standard

1 Corinthians 1:18 (NLT) – “The message of the cross is foolish to those who are headed for destruction! But we who are being saved know it is the very power of God.”

1 Corinthians 2:14 (NIV) – “The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit.”

My family has been at the forefront of my critical thinking lately. My dad; certain cousins; my brother-in-law and nephew have all been a constant focus in my thoughts. These are good people, who do not believe in what I believe. It’s safe to say that some of them even consider me foolish for placing most of my major decisions in the hands of religion. That’s how they view a belief in God. For them, praying first is a weak-minded sentiment. That’s why I worry about them.

A few weeks ago, I was involved in a car accident. I literally walked away from the terrible scene, but it made me acutely aware of a few things:

  1. God truly does exist (as if there were any doubt before the accident).
  2. We never know when our time on this earth is up. Time can’t be wasted.

Along with thinking on my loved ones, I’ve been seriously praying to the Lord to give me direction on how to share the gospel, particularly with family members who are not receptive of it. The two referenced verses from 1 Corinthians make a clear cut case, that people who do not believe in God will–and do–view the message of the gospel as foolishness. These verses have honestly intimidated me for years. In the past, I’ve taken the stance, “Well…if they aren’t going to believe me anyway, then why should I even bother? After all, they deserve whatever they get for disrespecting the Lord.”

That way of thinking is old and immature. I don’t want my Dad to pass away into an eternity absent of God. I want to see him and my Mom when this brief moment in time–called my life–is over. I want my cousin Bry to gain an understanding of what her grandmother Amanda knew to be true. I want my nephew Lakota to enjoy his young life, depression free; not always in search of fulfillment that will never come from any other place except the Son. I want my brother-in-law to come back to what he knows to be truth.

I think it’s a dangerous position to have a belief in false truth. What if you believed gravity was false and decided to walk  off an 800-feet high cliff to prove your point? Ultimately, believing God is false is just like that, and will lead to terrible consequences. I don’t want that for my family. I want them to come to know the Lord and trust in him just as I have.

6 thoughts on “Foolish Beliefs

        • Figuratively speaking KIA, many times. Results may vary, but I can tell you this: God’s will is always done. Sometimes I’m hurt by my decisions that I thought were harmless. Other times, I’m spared and even lifted up by decisions I’ve prayed about that make no natural or logical sense. It all boils down to choosing what you think and believe about God. I hope that helps.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Gods will is always done? Are you a believer in Divine Determinism? Do you believe that whatever comes to pass is the will of God? Serious question. Thx for the response in advance

            Like

            • That’s a great question KIA. The short answer is “Yes, I DO believe that whatever comes to pass is the will of God”. I honestly believe in what the bible says. God is Omnipotent and all powerful. He’s loving; yes.But he is also just. His view of “just” sometimes looks foreign to what our view of “just” is.
              Why do bad things happen in this world if God is so loving, one might ask? We live in a fallen and imperfect world, full of freedom of choice. By and large, we get to choose to follow the Lord or not. It’s a trait of humanity we were given. But there are always consequences to our choice; good or bad. If I steal, and get away with it for 20 years, I really can’t be surprised when the cops finally catch up to me. Consequence of my choice. But I think the issue people really struggle with is why bad things happen to good people, if God is so loving. When an earthquake wipes out a neighborhood; when a baby is killed in a driveby shooting; when rapists get away with an unspeakable act: we can’t comprehend why God would allow this. I can tell you this…even in my faith KIA, I struggle with such scenarios. Sometimes, the standard response of “No one knows the mind of God” just doesn’t seem to comfort me. But I can also tell you this: I understand that because our world is imperfect, bad things will and do happen. But I live with a faith that God is in control of it all.
              I really struggled for a long time when I lost my mother to cancer a few years ago. I wanted to curse God. But it was that very tragedy that led me to seek him out and learn about him. Ultimately, my joy in the Lord has nothing to do with emotional feelings. It’s a deeper connection with the creator of all things. I live with a belief that no matter what happens–good or bad–God is in control of it all.
              It’s quite possible that by trying to answer your question, I may have further confused you. I’m sorry about that, KIA. I guess if I want you to understand anything from this post-sized response, it’s that I trust God no matter what happens. I wasn’t always a believer, but I came to know him and trust his word in all things. Some may look at that type of belief as foolish. I don’t really care, because Jesus said unless we have childlike faith, it is impossible to believe.

              Like

Leave a Reply

