Speak Life, Not Death

Standard

We’ve all heard it: the “Christian” who praises God on Sunday, but swears like a seasoned construction-worker Monday through Saturday. As a kid, I couldn’t wait to grow up just so I could use the colorful language the adults used regularly. College years rolled around, and I used it liberally. Funny thing though; profanity never brought any gratification or fulfillment into my spirit. In fact, I found the more I used profanity, the angrier I became. It wasn’t until I came to know the Lord and read the bible that I discovered God has a lot to say about the words we speak. Here are a few words:

  • Colossians 3:8 (NLV)

“Put out of your life these things also: anger, bad temper, bad feelings toward others, talk that hurts people, speaking against God, and dirty talk.”

  • Ephesians 4:29 (NLT)

“Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.”

  • 2 Timothy 2:16 (NKJV)

But shun profane and idle babblings, for they will increase to more ungodliness.”

James describes the tongue as an evil thing that no one can tame. It rages like a roaring fire. From it, we both bless and curse. We need to be careful with the words we speak to one another. Even a single curse word sprinkled into an encouraging statement can diminish the effect of that message. The bible is clear: we need to stay away from foul language. Speak life, not death.

 

*always*

 

4 thoughts on “Speak Life, Not Death

  1. Agree! I don’t swear like I used to. When I feel that old pang of anger rising, I will let some slip, which I shouldn’t, I know I should have better restraint. Before though, I used to swear like a sailor, I mean it was bad. But now, I stop myself…I don’t always win, but I’m more aware of what comes out of my mouth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

